Cedar – “the tree” mahogany with rosewood neck

This is a special guitar which I made for myself. It happened that last year the number of builds caught up with my age – 34.
The (fan-braced) soundboard is the best I have handled so far, rivaling a double top.   According to the seller it came from a reclaimed dead tree from the Vancouver area.
-back, sides, headplate and rosette of highly figured Honduras mahogany,  the famous “the tree” cut in 1965.
-neck and bridge of 60 yo Brazilian rosewood
-fingerboard and back strip of bois-de-rose Madagascar rosewood, Indian rw binding.
-Gilbert tuners

Recently the guitar passed to an incredible guitarist I met, Cristian Gramesc from Salzburg.
Soundclips: pieces by Tedesco, Regondi and Brouwer, Savarez strings.

One thought on “Cedar – “the tree” mahogany with rosewood neck

Leave a comment